photo 4-1

 

Japan is famous for its cherry blossom or Sakura, which usually takes place at the end of March and early April. The forecast for this years’ best Sakura day (i.e. the full bloom) in Osaka was the 2nd April, this Thursday. My plan was that on Thursday I would take the children and go and have a picnic under a cherry tree at Osaka Castle. My husband being currently in England means that he will experience this year’s Sakura only by reading this blog post.

The plan changed today (Tuesday) when I saw the weather forecast. The forecast predicted heavy rain for tomorrow. Because the cherry blossom like rain as much as the swimmers in Amity Island like sharks, we had to change our plan. You see, if it rains tomorrow, the Sakura season is over even before it reaches the full bloom on the 2nd April as the raindrops wash the delicate petals to the ground.

Yes, Sakura is precious that way. It only blooms for about a week and the first rain puts a stop to it for another year. Some people think that such short-lived beauty is not worth it – that sakura it is a bit like stuffing your face with caviar, truffles and champagne for one week of the year and only having porridge and water the remaining 51 weeks of the year. I won’t tell you what to think but when you get to the photos of the sakura below, I hope you agree that porridge and water is not that bad 51 weeks a year if you get one week of sakura.

Anyway, in a state of panic I left work early today to visit Kouzu Gu Shrine, a temple close to our apartment. Along the way, I popped in at home to see if the children were there, so that I could take them with me, but they weren’t – our au pair had taken them elsewhere to see the sakura (presumably, also in a state of panic).

I was slightly disappointed that I couldn’t take my children with me, but I can’t deny that when I left my apartment without the kids and headed towards the shrine on my own I felt like Nina Simone when she sings I’m Feeling Good. Not having the kids with me meant that I could enjoy the sakura without any incidents of nosebleeds, bumps on heads or anyone associated with me attempting to climb the cherry trees or whining (a) ‘Can we go home already? or (b) ‘Can we play big bad T-rexes?’ So yeah, I got over not having my kids there pretty quickly. If you have children (and even if you didn’t) you probably know what I am talking about – even if your intentions are good, doing an activity that doesn’t really interest children is usually as enjoyable as brushing your teeth with your dog’s toothbrush (it doesn’t kill you but you can’t say it was the best experience you’ve had).

When I got to the shrine, I was like 007 eyeballing a Bond girl’s bosom. It was beautiful! See photos above and below.

photo(2)

photo 2-5

photo 2-1

 

photo 5

photo(3)

photo 3-1

photo 1-1

 

The only thing that ruined the tranquility a bit for me was the fact that there were quite a few stalls outside the shrine area in which they sold toys, live little fish, and had old-fashioned fairground games. Presumably these were there for the benefit of the children whose parents had taken them along (and also for the benefit of the parents). There were also food stalls, which were catering for the people viewing the cherry blossom.

IMG_8279

 IMG_8303

 

Hanami (cherry blossom viewing) is a popular sakura activity. Families, friends and work colleagues get together and make a beeline towards their favourite cherry blossom spot with picnic food and a little tipple – or actually not just a little tipple, more like a Niagara Falls of a tipple.

 

photo 1-5

IMG_8306

 

I was there admiring the trees, and taking photos on my own, without any food or drink, when I hear ‘Herro!’ ‘Herro!’ A group of elderly drunken Japanese hanami goers sitting on the ground signal for me to join their party. And I joined them! Before you think I am crazy, I should perhaps say a couple of words of defence. First, I used to live in Brighton, where joining random people’s parties is nothing unheard of. Second, this happened around 6 o’clock in the evening, in daylight. Third, there were a couple of hundred people around us. So, I reckoned I would be safe and to be honest I was a little lonely there on my own.

I was offered beer, sushi, sausages, jellied meat, and other foods. The group was very friendly, and tried their hardest to speak English. I was friendly, tried their food, had a glass of the beer that they offered, and tried my hardest to speak Japanese. It was actually the first time ever for me to really try using Japanese (outside my Japanese classes, that is). And we had a nice (rudimentary) chat about work, Finland, Japan and of course the sakura. It somehow felt easier to talk to a group of giggling 60-year olds who had had way too much alcohol for one hanami session, than try to use Japanese at my work. I think for the benefit of my Japanese language skills, from hereafter I will have to seek the company of drunken groups of Japanese pensioners.

IMG_8348

 

In any case, I loved the sakura. I loved the group of Japanese cherry blossom viewers, and I loved going back home to my children after having had a couple of hours of my own sakura time.

 

photo 2-3

19 thoughts on “Sakura – Cherry Blossom

  1. I bet it was a sight for sore eyes. All that beautiful blossom. Mind you I think England is great for blossom and it lasts longer!! Enjoyed your blog.

    • I’m happy to hear you enjoyed the blog. 🙂

      Yes, that’s true – Japan is great of blossom, but so is England. I actually quite miss the spring in England, now that you mentioned it. Luckily we’ll get to enjoy the summer in the UK this year. Hope to see you then!

    • Yeah, doing stuff and going to places without kids is definitely a different experience to attempting to do the same with kids. E is two, right? You MUST feel the same as me! 😀 😀

      I’ve learned to crash parties on the Brighton beach so it felt like the right thing to do at that shrine in Osaka as well 🙂

  2. Nyt vaan jatat tylsat kielikurssit ja vanhusten kanssa ryyppaamaan!😂Ei vaiskaan – ihania puita! Kuin pitsista kermavaahtoa. Ja liikkista jotenkin etta niita puita juhlitaan koko kansan voimalla ja vauvasta vaariin.

  3. That group of 60-year-old people sounds so cute. Must be fun to hang out with them and practice Japanese:) I once to try to speak Japanese to a Japanese guy in the US, and he told me “Ganbatte kudasai ne” haha 😀

    • Cool, you speak Japanese! I wish I could.

      Yeah, the group was great! They were so friendly (and drunk!) 🙂 I felt completely at ease with my beginner’s Japanese with them. I am starting to think that I should have a glass for wine before I go to my Japanese lessons now 🙂

      • oh no no, I took some classes back in college but by now I don’t remember much:) I’m actually think that I’m gonna be so lost when I go to Japan later this year. Is it hard when you first moved there? Like unable to read road signs or menus and things like that?

      • It was, and still is, very hard. We didn’t know any Japanese when we moved here and the first 6 months of our stay here was so hectic that I didn’t have time to study Japanese. I started my Japanese classes a couple of months ago, but am still a complete beginner. Menus, roadsigns (and frankly everything) are still a major struggle, but I’m hoping I’ll get there in the end 🙂

        Where abouts in Japan are you going?

      • We are going to Osaka, Kyoto, Hiroshima, and Tokyo. I think I found your blog when searching for Osaka food or things to do:) Great information you have here. I hear you, Japanese is quite hard to learn, because of the kanji. So I’m trying to do as much research as I can. Probably will rely on Google Map a lot when we get there 🙂

      • In Kyoto and Tokyo you’ll be able to get by by using English. Osaka will be slightly more difficult if you don’t know Japanese. Most people in hospitality and retail industries here (i.e. in Osaka) do not speak English. But we’ve managed a year with our beginners’ Japanese abilities and loved it here regardless so you should be ok 🙂 Btw, if you would like any specific info on Osaka (good restaurants, shops, etc.) please send me an email and I’ll be more than happy to help.

      • That’s good to hear:) we really look forward to it. Thank you for the info, I will probably get in touch closer to the trip and ask questions if you don’t mind!

Leave a Reply

