Emergency rations

Pre-typhoon clouds

Pre-typhoon clouds

If you read my previous post, you know that we are currently on Yoron Island (near Okinawa) on holiday, and you also know that yesterday we bought some emergency rations (chocolate, biscuits, crisps, pot noodles and wine) for our holiday cottage so that we could survive through super typhoon Dujuan, which was heading towards Okinawa.

Dujuan however missed Yoron and headed to Taiwan instead. I was relieved that we didn’t have to experience a super typhoon whilst in our holiday cottage by a beach on a tiny, relatively remote, Pacific island. However, my husband, whose mindset is that of a 16-year old’s, was disappointed. He wanted to experience a proper typhoon – something that a year and a half in Osaka hasn’t been able to deliver.

You see, in terms of Typhoons, Osaka seems to be ideally positioned. Many times there has been an emergency warning for Osaka, and we’ve stocked up on food and bottled water, filled the bathtub with water (to flush the toilet if electricity goes), brought the washing line and our kids’ paddling pools in from the balcony, and expected a front row view from our 24th floor apartment of the wind, rain and airborne 7-Eleven staff, who are expected to go to work even in emergency weather conditions. But the typhoons have always changed their course and battered other places, most commonly Okinawa, and we’ve yet to experience a flying 7-Eleven cashier.

Anyway, today was a new day, and no sign of Dujuan.

Like most mornings, our son and daughter got up earlier than my husband and I. They went downstairs to the living area of our holiday cottage, discovered the chocolate and crisp wrappings and an empty bottle of white wine that my husband and I had polished off after the kids had gone to bed (and Dujuan had changed its course), and with disgust, my son goes:

‘Look! They’ve been pigging out again.’

Pre-typhoon clouds

Pre-typhoon clouds

10 thoughts on “Emergency rations

  1. I sort of share the idea of wanting to experience a typhoon…but not. I was disappointed but yet relieved that our family never got to shake hands with a tornado while living in the midwest of US. I guess it is one of those things that you need to experience to know that you really do not want to experience it.

  2. The clouds in your photographs look ominous! I understand your husband’s excitement, but believe me, you were not where you want to be when you have a cyclone experience!

  3. I don’t think you would like to have had the typhoon come your way!! Get real !! I saw the aftermath of a tsunami on Samoa Island in the Pacific. Though I have to say I am sure not sure what the difference in outcome would be. I haven’t seen or been in a typhoon myself.

Leave a Reply

